Striving for more reliable study results?
We focus on quality.

Associate members

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Clinical research requires an ongoing exchange between the parties involved

For the public and the media

Medical progress is important, but not at any price. It is up to each society to define for itself how high the price of medical progress should be. The right balance between risks and benefits depends on many factors and, ultimately, on an individual’s point of view. Public perception plays an important role as well.

To ensure medical progress, it is necessary to have mutual trust and an ongoing exchange between all the parties involved: including physicians, researchers, patients, industry and the public. Discussing the risks and benefits of clinical research is useful for all stakeholders and lays the foundation for better and more efficient medical care.

The SCTO liaises between stakeholders: for example by providing high-quality and independent information or by organising events and forums that allow direct interactions and promote discussions of controversial issues.

Should you have any questions about clinical research in Switzerland, please do not hesitate to contact us

Verlässliche Studienergebnisse?
Wir setzen auf Qualität.

Mitglieder

Assoziierte Mitglieder

Die SCTO ist eine eigenständige Organisation und basiert auf einer Initiative des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds und der Schweizerischen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften.

Seit 2017 ist die SCTO eine vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation sowie vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds geförderte Forschungsinfrastruktur von nationaler Bedeutung.

Klinische Forschung braucht den ständigen Austausch unter den Akteuren

Für Öffentlichkeit und Medien

Medizinischer Fortschritt ist wichtig, aber nicht um jeden Preis. Wie hoch dieser Preis sein soll, muss jede Gesellschaft für sich entscheiden. Das richtige Verhältnis von Nutzen und Risiken hängt von vielen Faktoren ab. Letzten Endes auch vom persönlichen Standpunkt. Die Wahrnehmung der Öffentlichkeit spielt hier eine wichtige Rolle.

Um den medizinischen Fortschritt zu gewährleisten, braucht es gegenseitiges Vertrauen und den kontinuierlichen Austausch zwischen allen involvierten Akteuren: Ärzten, Forschern, Patienten, Industrie – einschliesslich der Öffentlichkeit. Ein sachlicher Austausch über Nutzen und Risiken der klinischen Forschung dient allen und bereitet den Boden für eine bessere und effizientere medizinische Betreuung.

Die SCTO vermittelt unter den Akteuren: Zum Beispiel indem sie qualitativ hochwertige und unabhängige Informationen bereitstellt oder auch indem sie Anlässe und Foren organisiert, die eine direkte Interaktion ermöglichen und an denen kontroverse Themen diskutiert werden können.

Wenden Sie sich bei Fragen zur klinische Forschung in der Schweiz an uns