Looking for better solutions?
We promote dialogue between stakeholders.

Associate members

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Services

Our services: we provide expertise and contacts

We are committed to making Switzerland a more attractive location for research. Everyone involved in clinical research, including research groups from academia and industry, authorities, patients and the public, can find an arena for exchanging information and ideas at the SCTO. Together with our partners we are working to promote clinical research in Switzerland and make it more accessible. Our services are designed to optimise and harmonise processes. We focus on quality, efficiency and transparency.

Support for clinical research projects: Clinical Trial Units

The SCTO itself does not offer services for the operational implementation of trials. This is the task of the Clinical Trial Units (CTUs). The CTUs provide all the services needed to smoothly conduct clinical study projects. The SCTO coordinates the collaboration among these centres. More information about the services they offer and about the members is available under CTU network.

Excellence centres for better processes in clinical research: Our platforms

With the ultimate goal to achieve more at national level, six platforms were set up in early 2017. These platforms serve as excellence centres and focus on the following areas:

Auditing Dr Regina Grossmann, CTU Zurich
Regulatory affairs    Dr Laure Vallotton, CTU Lausanne
Data management Dr Michael Scharfe, CTU Basel
Biostatistics/Study methodology Brigitta Gahl, CTU Bern
Monitoring Dr Jocelyne Chabert, CTU Geneva
Project management Dr Synove Otterbech and Mareen Reiter, CTU St.Gallen
Education SCTO Executive Office


In these excellence centres experts work together to harmonise processes and set national standards. This includes strengthening Switzerland’s international competitiveness and promoting the conduct of multicentre studies. Furthermore, the platforms serve as central contact partners for authorities and national and international stakeholders for all questions concerning clinical research.

The SCTO liaises between the different platforms. As a supervisory link it ensures the required exchange in national and international activities and encourages a smooth collaboration in order to avoid parallel activities. The SCTO’s previous working groups for quality assurance, data management and education were integrated thematically into the six platforms.

Specialised research units

Our member institutions host specialised units for clinical research projects with patients which are either in an early phase or whose research questions require special conditions or methods. The catalogue under Specialised units provides an overview of the units existing in Switzerland.

Working groups

We also initiate and moderate working groups ad hoc that address the current challenges of clinical research and attempt to develop solutions. For example, by actively participating to implement the Human Research Act in a practice-oriented way. We look ahead in order to identify changes at an early stage and respond to them appropriately. Please contact us for more information about our services. Let us tackle current challenges of clinical research together.

For further information about our services see our latest SCTO Short Report.

Elaboration de solutions plus abouties?
Favorisons la communication entre les acteurs.

Membres associés

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

Prestations

Nos prestations: nous proposons le savoir-faire et les contacts

À la SCTO, nous souhaitons renforcer le site suisse de la recherche clinique. Tous les acteurs – c.-à-d. les groupes de recherche issus de l’industrie et de l’académie, les autorités, les patients et le public – trouvent auprès de la SCTO un lieu d’échange permettant d’améliorer en commun la recherche clinique en Suisse. Nous travaillons avec nos partenaires pour encourager et rendre accessible la recherche clinique en Suisse. Nos prestations ont pour objectif d’optimiser et d’harmoniser les processus. Nous misons sur la qualité, l’efficacité et la transparence et nous sommes toujours attentifs aux suggestions de nos intervenants et des personnes qui utilisent nos services.

Pour de plus amples informations sur nos prestations contactez-nous. Abordons ensemble les défis actuels de la recherche clinique!

Notre soutien pour les projets de recherche clinique: Clinical Trial Units

La SCTO ne propose pas ses propres services pour la réalisation opérationnelle d’études. Cette tâche incombe aux Clinical Trial Units (CTU). Les CTU proposent l’ensemble des services nécessaires au bon fonctionnement des projets d’étude cliniques. La SCTO coordonne la collaboration entre les différentes CTU. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations sur les CTU et leurs membres sous Réseau CTU.

Nos centres de compétences pour optimiser les processus de la recherche clinique: Les Plateformes SCTO

Afin de renforcer le site Suisse de la recherche clinique, il est nécessaire d’optimiser et d’harmoniser les processus au niveau national. Les Plateformes SCTO ont été établies en 2017 dans le but de soutenir le développement de nouvelles thérapies et l’amélioration des traitements existants.

Les huit plateformes sont destinées à agir en tant que centres de compétences dans les domaines suivants: audit, statistiques et méthodologie, gestion des données, formation, monitoring, gestion de projets, regulatory affairs et safety.

Au sein de ces centres de compétences, les experts travaillent ensemble à l’harmonisation des processus et à la création de standards nationaux. Cela inclut également le renforcement de la compétitivité internationale de la Suisse et la promotion d’études multicentriques. En outre, ces plateformes sont les interlocutrices des autorités et des groupes d’intérêts nationaux et internationaux pour toutes les questions relatives à la recherche clinique.

La SCTO agit également en qualité de coordinatrice des différentes plateformes. En tant qu’intermédiaire entre les plateformes, nos Liaison Officers ont pour objectif d’assurer un échange approprié lors d’activités nationales et internationales et d’éviter les activités parallèles grâce à une collaboration optimale. Sur le plan thématique, les groupes de travail anciens de la SCTO, à savoir «Quality Assurance», «Data Management» et «Education», ont été intégrés dans les plateformes.

Autres services: Unités de recherche spécialisées et groupes de travail ad hoc

Les institutions membres de la SCTO proposent des unités spécialisées pour des projets de recherche clinique avec des patients qui se trouve à un stade précoce ou dont les sujets de recherche nécessitent des conditions ou des méthodes particulières. La brochure dans la rubrique Unités de recherche spécialisées donne un aperçu des unités existantes en Suisse.

Nous mettons également sur pied et animons des groupes de travail ad hoc pour aborder les défis actuels de la recherche clinique et tentons d’élaborer des solutions. La participation active à une mise en œuvre axée sur la pratique de la loi sur la recherche sur les êtres humains en est un exemple. Nous sommes tournés vers l’avenir afin d’identifier les changements et tendances le plus tôt possible et d’être en mesure d’y réagir de manière appropriée.

Pour de plus amples informations sur nos prestations veuillez consulter notre «SCTO Short Report» actuel.