Aiming to simplify your clinical trials?
We streamline processes.

Associate members

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

EUPATI

Swiss EUPATI National Platform
EUPATI Swiss Patient Forum 2018
EUPATI Swiss Patient Forum 2018
Activities

Swiss Patient Forum 2018

What is quality of life for patients? How do those define it who struggle with it? And what do patients need to improve it, practically? At the Swiss Patient Forum held on 28 September 2018, EUPATI CH brought together a vibrant group of patients, representatives, and their caretakers to brainstorm these burning questions in a welcoming atmosphere.
Read more in the report of the event and see all photos at ch.eupati.eu.

More information about EUPATI's activities and events can be found further below on this page.


EUPATI CH: Executive and Advisory Board members
EUPATI CH: Executive and Advisory Board members

Patients as key partners in clinical research

Because they have knowledge and experience of their own health conditions, patients are indispensable partners in medical research. In order to voice their concerns effectively in the development and implementation of clinical studies, patients need to have access to appropriate training and to scientifically reliable, objective and comprehensive information. Well-trained patients can improve the design and the results of studies.

The European Patients' Academy on Therapeutic Innovation (EUPATI) provides education and training tools for representatives of patient organisations, including a one-year expert training course for patients, a patient advocate toolkit and an online resource library. The national platform EUPATI Switzerland helps to distribute these tools and serves as a point of contact for inquiries. This national platform was initiated by the Positivrat Schweiz, the University Hospital Basel and Novartis Pharma Schweiz AG, and is supported by the SCTO and Swissmedic.

The SCTO is committed to more active patient involvement. The overall goal is to form a national platform that brings together interested parties from patient organisations, academic institutions, the pharmaceutical industry and authorities. We help to achieve this goal by co-organising events for the EUPATI platform Switzerland and seminars for science journalists. In addition, we establish contact with patients or representatives of patient organisations.


Activities and events

Foundation of the legal association

On 4 October 2016, the association EUPATI Switzerland was founded. The press release is available in German and French.

An Executive Board consisting of patients as well as patient organisation and industry representatives manages the association and is supported by an Advisory Board, which consists of patient, industry and government representatives and which is expanded continuously.

The first goal of the association is to spread the word about the EUPATI offers in Switzerland. For this purpose it adapts existing information material, spreads it via newsletters and transfers medical knowledge for patients and patient representatives through a toolbox on the EUPATI website. Furthermore, the association organises training sessions. Besides basic and advanced training courses EUPATI Switzerland seeks to assist in the political debate about involving patients in medicines research and development processes.

EUPATI is a European patients’ academy on therapeutic innovation operating a network of regional independent organisations in different countries. The aim is to better inform patients about therapies and treatments and to actively involve them in medicines research and development.

EUPATI Switzerland

Show more
Hide

EUPATI platform Switzerland launched

The national platform EUPATI Switzerland was launched on 3 February 2016. For programme, presentations and press release, visit our German and French pages.

EUPATI is a European patients’ academy for therapeutic innovation with regional platforms in different countries. Patients can educate themselves with the help of a toolbox, an online library and a training programme to engage better in medicinal research and development processes. 140 representatives of health and patient organisations, authorities and academy participated at the launch event.

Show more
Hide

First meeting in French-speaking part of Switzerland

On 25 March 2015 nearly 50 representatives of patient organisations, clinical research institutions, the pharmaceutical industry and authorities met in Lausanne to exchange their personal experiences and views of patient involvement in medical research and development. This event provided an ideal opportunity for potential stakeholders to learn about the EUPATI project and ongoing activities. The programme and presentations are available on our French page.

The European Patients’ Academy (EUPATI) seeks to increase the knowledge of patients and patient organisations in order to become effective advocates and counsellors in medical research, for example in the field of clinical trials, government agencies or ethics committees. Patients shall receive scientifically sound, objective and understandable information about medical research and development.

The aim of the meeting in Lausanne was to gather interested organisations and individuals and lay the ground for the creation of a national platform in Switzerland. The platform will assist EUPATI in the wider dissemination of educational material and locally support the interested audience in acquiring the necessary knowledge to engage in the medical research and development processes.

The experiences in patient empowerment were touchingly demonstrated during the meeting by patient representatives who presented their personal stories and journeys towards their engagement in the health sector. Representatives from academia, the pharmaceutical industry and the local ethics commission explained their work and explored the possibilities of patient involvement in medical research and associated processes.

Opportunities for patient (organisation) engagement are still rare in Switzerland and the willingness of many stakeholders to collaborate within such models is still lacking. It is for this reason that the national EUPATI platform in Switzerland will strive to support the creation of opportunities for patient engagement in Switzerland.

Show more
Hide

First national event

On 11 December 2014 the Swiss EUPATI National Platform gathered more than 50 Swiss German-speaking stakeholders. The participants gained information about EUPATI and the opportunities of patient engagement in Switzerland.

More information about this first event is available in German.


Publications

Read more about EUPATI under Publications from our network.

Un déroulement des études cliniques simplifié?
Harmonisons les processus.

Membres associés

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

EUPATI

Plateforme nationale EUPATI pour la Suisse
EUPATI Swiss Patient Forum 2018
EUPATI Swiss Patient Forum 2018
Actualités

Swiss Patient Forum 2018

Qu’est-ce que la qualité de vie des patientes et patients? Comment ceux qui y sont confrontés la définissent-ils? Et de quoi ont-ils besoin pour l’améliorer pratiquement? Au Swiss Patient Forum qui a eu lieu le 28 septembre 2018, EUPATI CH a réuni dans une atmosphère accueillante un groupe enthousiaste de patients, de leurs représentants et de proches aidants pour un brainstorming de ces questions importantes.
Vous trouverez le rapport de l'événement et toutes les photos sous ch.eupati.eu.

Les informations concernant les autres activités et événements sont disponibles plus bas sur cette page.


EUPATI CH: Executive and Advisory Board members
EUPATI CH: Executive and Advisory Board members

Les patients sont des acteurs essentiels au sein de la recherche clinique

Le savoir et l’expérience de sa propre maladie transforme le patient en un partenaire indispensable pour la recherche clinique. Au moment de présenter leurs demandes de manière compétente dans le cadre du développement et de la réalisation d’études cliniques, les patients doivent avoir accès aux formations correspondantes et à des informations scientifiquement fiables, objectives et compréhensibles. Les patients bénéficiant d’une bonne formation peuvent ainsi améliorer le plan d’étude ainsi que les résultats.

L’Académie Européenne de Patients EUPATI propose des formations continues et des instruments de formation aux patients et aux représentants des organisations de patients: citons ici un cours d’expert patient d’une année, une boîte à outils pour représentants de patients ou encore une bibliothèque de ressources en ligne.

La plateforme nationale EUPATI pour la Suisse fournit son appui lors du transfert de ces instruments et assume un rôle de coordination au niveau du pays. La plateforme nationale est une initiative du Conseil Positif Suisse, de l’hôpital universitaire de Bâle, de Novartis Pharma Suisse, avec le soutien de Swissmedic et de la SCTO.

La SCTO s’engage en faveur d’une participation accrue des patients. L’objectif consiste à créer une plateforme nationale qui rassemble les partenaires issus des organisations de patients, les institutions académiques, l’industrie pharmaceutique et les autorités. Nous proposons par exemple notre aide pour organiser des événements relatifs à la plateforme nationale suisse EUPATI ou des séminaires pour journalistes scientifiques. Par ailleurs, nous fournissons des contacts aux patients ou aux représentants des organisations de patients.


Actualités et événements

Fondation de l'association

L’association EUPATI Suisse a été fondée le 4 octobre 2016. L’objectif premier de l’association EUPATI Suisse est de faire connaître les services d’EUPATI en Suisse.

Elle est dirigée par un bureau directeur composé de patients, et de représentants d’organisations de patients et de l’Académie. Le bureau directeur est soutenu dans sa tâche par un comité consultatif qui s’élargira avec le temps et qui regroupe des représentants des patients, de l’industrie et des administrations concernées.

L’objectif premier de l’association EUPATI Suisse est de faire connaître les services d’EUPATI en Suisse. A cette fin, EUPATI Suisse adapte le matériel d’information existant, le diffuse à travers ses Newsletters et propose aux patients et représentants de patients d’acquérir un savoir médical grâce à une boîte à outil en ligne disponible sur le site Web d’EUPATI. L’association organise en outre diverses formations. En parallèle aux offres de cours et formation continue, EUPATI Suisse souhaite initier au niveau national un débat sur l’implication des patientes et des patients dans la recherche et développement pharmaceutique.

EUPATI est une académie européenne de patients pour l’innovation thérapeutique, qui gère des plateformes régionales dans différents pays. L’objectif est de mieux informer les patients sur les nouveaux traitements et options thérapeutiques et de les impliquer activement dans la recherche et le développement de nouveaux médicaments.

EUPATI National Platform Suisse

Plus
Moins

Lancement de la plateforme nationale

La plateforme nationale EUPATI Suisse a été officiellement lancée le 3 février 2016 à Berne.

EUPATI est une académie européenne de patients pour l’innovation thérapeutique, qui gère des plateformes régionales dans différents pays. Une boîte à outils, une bibliothèque en ligne et un programme de formation permettent aux patients de se muer en experts et, ainsi, de s’investir mieux dans les processus de la recherche et du développement médical. Environ 140 représentantes et représentants d’organisations de santé et de patients, d’autorités administratives et de l’académie ont pris part à l’évènement de lancement.

 

Plus
Moins

Premier événement en Romandie

Le 25 mars 2015, près de 50 représentants des organisations de patients, des institutions de recherche clinique, des industries pharmaceutiques et des autorités se sont réunis à Lausanne pour partager leurs expériences personnelles et leurs visions par rapport à la participation des patients dans la recherche et le développement médical. Cet événement s’est avéré être l’occasion idéale pour informer les acteurs potentiels sur le projet EUPATI et les activités en cours.

L'académie européenne des patients (EUPATI) servira à élargir les connaissances des patients et des associations de patients pour qu’ils deviennent des défenseurs et des conseillers efficaces de la recherche médicale, par exemple, dans le domaine des essais cliniques ou au sein des organismes gouvernementaux ou des comités d'éthique. Les patients doivent recevoir une information objective, compréhensible et scientifique sur la recherche médicale.

Le but de la réunion de Lausanne a été de réunir les organisations et les personnes intéressées et de préparer le terrain pour la création d'une plate-forme nationale en Suisse. La plate-forme aidera EUPATI à diffuser plus largement le matériel éducatif et à soutenir localement les personnes intéressées à acquérir les connaissances nécessaires pour s’engager dans les processus de la recherche et du développement médical.

Durant la réunion, des représentants de patients ont présenté des expériences touchantes sur la responsabilisation du patient se référant à leur histoire personnelle et le chemin parcouru jusqu’à leur engagement dans le secteur de la santé. Les représentants du monde universitaire, de l'industrie pharmaceutique et des commissions d'éthique ont expliqué leur travail et ont exploré les possibilités d’inclure la participation des patients dans la recherche médicale et les domaines associés.

Toutefois, les possibilités d’engagement des (organisations de) patients ainsi que la volonté de nombreux acteurs de collaborer au sein de ces modèles fait encore défaut en Suisse. Ainsi, la plate-forme nationale EUPATI servira aussi à soutenir la création d'opportunités pour l’engagement des patients en Suisse.

Plus
Moins

Premier événement national

Le 11 décembre 2014 l'EUPATI National Platform suisse a réunis plus de 50 partenaires. Les participants ont reçus des informations concernant EUPATI et la participation des patients en Suisse. Plus d’informations sont en allemand.


Publications

Pour en savoir plus sur EUPATI consultez nos Publications de notre réseau.