Conducting clinical research across borders?
We promote international collaboration.

Associate members

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Services

Our services: expertise and contacts

At the SCTO, we are committed to making Switzerland a more appealing setting for research. Everyone involved in clinical research, including research groups from academia and industry, authorities, patients, and the public, can find an arena for exchanging information and ideas at the SCTO. Together with our partners, we are working to promote clinical research in Switzerland and make it more accessible. Our services are designed to optimise and harmonise processes. We focus on quality, efficiency, and transparency, and we are open to input from our stakeholders and those using our services.

Please contact us so that together, we can address the challenges that clinical research is facing.

Our support for clinical research projects: Clinical Trial Units

The SCTO itself does not offer services for the operational implementation of trials. This is the task of the Clinical Trial Units (CTUs), which provide all the services needed to run clinical study projects smoothly. Our role is to coordinate the collaboration among these centres.

More information about the CTUs’ services and members is available under CTU Network.

Our centres of excellence for better processes in clinical research: SCTO Platforms

Making Switzerland a more attractive setting for research requires optimising and harmonising processes at the national level. In line with our ultimate goal of supporting the successful development of new therapies and improving existing treatments, we established eight platforms in 2017.

These SCTO Platforms are to serve as centres of excellence, focusing on the following areas: auditing, statistics and methodology, data management, education, monitoring, project management, regulatory affairs, and safety.

In these centres of excellence, experts work together to harmonise processes and set national standards. This includes strengthening Switzerland’s international competitiveness and promoting multicentre studies. Furthermore, our platforms serve as central points of contact for authorities and for national and international stakeholders on all questions concerning clinical research.

Here too, the SCTO liaises between the different platforms. As a supervisory link, our Liaison Officers ensure the required exchange in national and international activities, encourage effective collaboration and help prevent parallel activities. The topics in our previous working groups for quality assurance, data management, and education were integrated into the platforms.

Further services: specialised research units and ad hoc working groups

Our member institutions host specialised units for clinical research projects with patients which are either in an early phase or whose research questions require special conditions or methods. The catalogue under specialised units provides an overview of the research units in Switzerland.

We also initiate and moderate ad hoc working groups to address the current challenges of clinical research and attempt to develop solutions. For example, we actively encourage practice-oriented implementation of the Human Research Act. Moreover, we look ahead in order to identify changes and trends at an early stage and respond to them appropriately.

For more information about our services, please read our latest SCTO Short Report.

Bessere Lösungen erarbeiten?
Wir fördern den Dialog zwischen den Akteuren.

Mitglieder

Assoziierte Mitglieder

Die SCTO ist eine eigenständige Organisation und basiert auf einer Initiative des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds und der Schweizerischen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften.

Seit 2017 ist die SCTO eine vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation sowie vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds geförderte Forschungsinfrastruktur von nationaler Bedeutung.

Leistungen

Unsere Dienstleistungen: Wir bieten Know-how und Kontakte

Wir möchten die Schweiz als Standort für klinische Forschung stärken. Alle Akteure – Forschungsgruppen aus Industrie und Akademie, Behörden, Patienten, Öffentlichkeit – sollen bei der SCTO einen Ort für den Austausch finden, um die klinische Forschung in der Schweiz gemeinsam voranzubringen. Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern arbeiten wir daran, die klinische Forschung in der Schweiz zu fördern und zugänglich zu machen. Unsere Dienstleistungen sind darauf ausgerichtet, Prozesse zu optimieren und zu harmonisieren. Wir setzen auf Qualität, Effizienz und Transparenz.

Unterstützung für klinische Forschungsprojekte: Clinical Trial Units

Die SCTO selbst bietet keine Dienstleistungen für die operative Durchführung von Studien an. Dies ist Aufgabe der Clinical Trial Units (CTUs). Die CTUs bieten sämtliche Dienstleistungen an, die es für die reibungslose Durchführung klinischer Studienprojekte braucht. Die SCTO koordiniert die Zusammenarbeit unter den CTUs. Mehr zum Angebot der CTUs und wer die Mitglieder sind, erfahren Sie unter CTU-Netzwerk.

Kompetenzzentren für bessere Prozesse in der klinischen Forschung: Unsere Plattformen

Um national noch mehr bewegen zu können, wurden 2017 sechs Plattformen eingerichtet, welche als Kompetenzzentren fungieren und sich auf folgende Bereiche konzentrieren:                                      

Auditing Dr. Regina Grossmann, CTU Zürich
Regulatory Affairs    Dr. Laure Vallotton, CTU Lausanne
Data Management Dr. Michael Scharfe, CTU Basel
Biostatistics/Study Methodology Brigitta Gahl, CTU Bern
Monitoring Dr. Jocelyne Chabert, CTU Genf
Project Management Dr. Synove Otterbech und Mareen Reiter, CTU St.Gallen
Education SCTO Geschäftsstelle


In diesen Kompetenzzentren arbeiten Experten gemeinsam daran, Prozesse zu harmonisieren und nationale Standards zu setzen. Dazu gehört auch, die internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Schweiz zu stärken und die Durchführung von Multizenterstudien zu fördern. Darüber hinaus dienen die Plattformen als zentrale Ansprechpartner für Behörden sowie nationale und internationale Interessenvertreter wenn es um Fragen rund um die klinische Forschung geht.

Die SCTO fungiert als Vermittlerin zwischen den verschiedenen Plattformen. Als übergeordnetes Bindeglied stellt sie sicher, dass bei nationalen und internationalen Aktivitäten der nötige Austausch stattfindet und dank einer reibungslosen Zusammenarbeit parallele Aktivitäten vermieden werden. Die bisherigen Arbeitsgruppen der SCTO, «Quality Assurance», «Data Management» und «Education», wurden thematisch in die sechs Plattformen integriert.

Spezialisierte Forschungseinheiten

Unsere Mitgliedinstitutionen verfügen über spezialisierte Einheiten für klinische Forschungsprojekte, welche mit Patienten durchgeführt werden und sich entweder in der Frühphase befinden oder deren Fragestellungen besondere Bedingungen und Methoden erfordern. Das Verzeichnis unter Spezialisierte Einheiten bietet einen Überblick dieser Forschungseinheiten.

Arbeitsgruppen

Wir initiieren und moderieren auch ad hoc Arbeitsgruppen, die aktuelle Herausforderungen der klinischen Forschung angehen und versuchen, Lösungen zu erarbeiten. So engagieren wir uns zum Beispiel für eine praxisorientierte Implementierung des Humanforschungsgesetzes. Wir schauen voraus, um Veränderungen möglichst frühzeitig zu erkennen und darauf reagieren zu können. Kontaktieren Sie uns, damit wir aktuelle Herausforderungen in der klinischen Forschung gemeinsam anpacken können.

Weitere Informationen zu unseren Leistungen finden Sie im aktuellen «SCTO Short Report».