Striving for more reliable study results?
We focus on quality.

Associate members

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Executive Office

management

Under the hand of Managing Director Annette Magnin, all the threads of the SCTO are interwoven. Together with the SCTO board, she defines the measures for implementing the strategic goals of the association and for fulfilling the service agreement with the federal government. She is a pharmacist and brings with her many years of experience and a broad knowledge of clinical research operations and the leadership and training of clinical professionals. In addition, she is involved in various professional and policy-related bodies. 

EDUCATION

Andri Christen manages the setting up of a Swiss Clinical Research Education Centre aiming to address the needs of the next generation and thus strengthen young talent emerging in clinical research. To this end, he coordinates the SCTO platform, Education. He also serves as Liaison Officer of the SCTO platform, Biostatistics/Study Methodology and coordinates additional projects related to clinical research, both national and international. He is a biologist with a doctorate in epidemiology. Following considerable experience conducting research and years at the Swiss Federal Office for Public Health, he has developed in-depth know-how in human research and research ethics.

SwissPedNet | Regulatory Affairs, Safety

As National Coordinator of SwissPedNetPascale Wenger builds relationships between Swiss-based experts in clinical paediatric centres and their colleagues in other countries, in support of both the research projects of paediatricians and the advancement of paediatric medicines. She also serves as Liaison Officer for two SCTO platforms: Regulatory Affairs and Safety. In terms of network coordination, she supports researchers, professional groups and networks from various therapeutic fields, as they establish themselves and the infrastructure required for multicentre studies. She is a pharmacist with considerable experience in Regulatory Affairs and has been active in academic, patient-oriented research since 2008.

QUALITY ASSURANCE | AUDITING, MONITORING AND PROJECT MANAGEMENT

Rosine Mucklow ensures that internal processes at the SCTO run smoothly and that the right structures are in place for quality assurance. She is also Liaison Officer for three SCTO platforms: Auditing, Monitoring, and Project Management. She has been working in the field of clinical research and development since completing her degree in natural sciences. Thanks to her work with pharmaceutical companies and academic institutions large and small, she is experienced in handling relations with sponsors and clinical research organisations (CROs).

ECRIN, EUPATI | BIOSTATISTICS, STUDY METHODOLOGY AND DATA MANAGEMENT

As ECRIN correspondent for Switzerland, Caecilia Schmid facilitates groundbreaking international partnerships in terrain of European research. In addition, she runs the Secretariat of the EUPATI Switzerland Platform, striving to have the voice of patients heard in the development and implementation of clinical trials. As Liaison Officer, she is also responsible for the SCTO platform, Data Management. She has a doctorate in epidemiology, with substantial experience in international clinical research and in research collaboration.

COMMUNICATION AND CREATING VISIBILITY

Estelle Jobson and Jadranka Knezevic make sure that the work of the SCTO can be widely seen, read and understood.
Estelle Jobson’s role includes imagining fresh ideas to create visibility around SCTO activities. She has a background in academic publishing and corporate writing and is an active patient advocate. In 2016, she completed the training for patient experts run by the European Patients' Academy (EUPATI).
Jadranka Knezevic focuses on communication. As a qualified translator and editor, she handles the editorial management and coordination of publications. She develops and maintains the corporate identity, ensuring the golden thread runs through all aspects of the SCTO.

ACCOUNTING, HUMAN RESOURCES AND ADMINISTRATION

Jonas Ajrouche has the tricky job of managing our books and of juggling our complex and multifaceted Secretariat. Accordingly, he works together with our Communications team to ensure seamless event management, while also providing support to management with Human Resources. He has a commercial background and a Bachelor’s degree in national and international business law.

The SCTO Executive Office is located in Bern.

Verlässliche Studienergebnisse?
Wir setzen auf Qualität.

Mitglieder

Assoziierte Mitglieder

Die SCTO ist eine eigenständige Organisation und basiert auf einer Initiative des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds und der Schweizerischen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften.

Seit 2017 ist die SCTO eine vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation sowie vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds geförderte Forschungsinfrastruktur von nationaler Bedeutung.

Geschäftsstelle

Geschäftsführung

Bei Annette Magnin laufen alle Fäden der SCTO zusammen. Zusammen mit dem Vorstand der SCTO definiert sie die Massnahmen zur Umsetzung der strategischen Ziele des Vereins und der Leistungsvereinbarung mit dem Bund. Die diplomierte Apothekerin bringt langjährige Erfahrung sowie ein breites Wissen aus der operativen klinischen Forschung sowie der Führung und Ausbildung von klinischem Fachpersonal mit. Darüber hinaus ist sie in verschiedenen fachlichen und standespolitischen Gremien engagiert.

EDUCATION

Andri Christen leitet den Aufbau eines «Swiss Clinical Research Education Centers», das spezifisch auf die Bedürfnisse des Nachwuchses eingehen und so junge Talente in der klinischen Forschung stärken soll. Ergänzend dazu koordiniert er die SCTO-Plattform «Education». Zudem ist er Liaison Officer der SCTO-Plattform «Biostatistics/Study Methodology» und koordiniert weitere nationale und internationale Projekte in der klinischen Forschung. Er ist Biologe und hat in Epidemiologie promoviert. Dank langjähriger Forschungserfahrung und seiner Tätigkeit beim Bundesamt für Gesundheit bringt er fundiertes Know-how aus den Bereichen Humanforschung und Forschungsethik mit.

SWISSPEDNET | REGULATORY AFFAIRS, SAFETY

Als Nationale Koordinatorin SwissPedNet stellt Pascale Wenger den Kontakt zwischen Schweizer Fachleuten in klinischen pädiatrischen Zentren und Kollegen in anderen Ländern her und unterstützt so einerseits Forschungsprojekte von Kinderärzten und andererseits die Förderung von Kinderarzneimitteln. Sie agiert zudem als Liaison Officer für die SCTO-Plattformen «Regulatory Affairs» und «Safety». Im Bereich Netzwerk-Koordination unterstützt sie Forschende, Gruppierungen und Netzwerke diverser Indikationsgebiete dabei, sich zu etablieren und Infrastrukturen für ihre Multizenterstudien zu erhalten. Die Pharmazeutin bringt langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich Regulatory Affairs mit und ist seit 2008 in der akademischen patientenorientierten Forschung tätig.

QUALITÄTSSICHERUNG | AUDITING, MONITORING, PROJEKTMANAGEMENT

Rosine Mucklow stellt sicher, dass interne Prozesse effektiv sind und sorgt im Bereich Qualitätssicherung für die richtigen Strukturen dafür. Zudem ist sie Liaison Officer für die SCTO-Plattformen «Auditing», «Monitoring» und «Project Management». Sie arbeitet seit Abschluss ihres Naturwissenschaftsstudiums im Bereich der klinischen Forschung und Entwicklung. Dank ihrer Tätigkeit bei grösseren aber auch kleineren pharmazeutischen Firmen und akademischen Institutionen kennt sie sowohl die Sponsorenrolle als auch die Rolle der Auftragsforschungsinstitute.

ECRIN, EUPATI | BIOSTATISTIK/STUDIENMETHODIK, DATENMANAGEMENT

Als ECRIN-Korrespondentin für die Schweiz unterstützt Caecilia Schmid grenzüberschreitende Partnerschaften innerhalb der europäischen Forschungslandschaften. Ausserdem hilft sie im Sekretariat der EUPATI-Landesplattform Schweiz mit, dass die Stimme der Patienten bei der Entwicklung und Durchführung von klinischen Studien gehört wird. Als Liaison Officer betreut sie die SCTO-Plattform «Data Management». Sie ist promovierte Epidemiologin mit mehrjähriger Erfahrung in der internationalen klinischen Forschung sowie in Forschungskooperationen.

KOMMUNIKATION UND VISIBILITY

Estelle Jobson und Jadranka Knezevic sorgen gemeinsam dafür, dass die SCTO gesehen, gelesen und verstanden wird.
Estelle Jobson entwickelt Ideen, um die Arbeit der SCTO sichtbar und greifbar zu machen. Sie bringt Erfahrung im wissenschaftlichen Publikationswesen sowie im Bereich Unternehmenskommunikation. Ausserdem engagiert sie sich für die Interessen von Patienten und hat im 2016 die Schulung für Patientenexperten der Europäischen Patientenakademie (EUPATI) absolviert.
Jadranka Knezevic betreut den Bereich Kommunikation. Die diplomierte Übersetzerin und Lektorin übernimmt die redaktionelle Betreuung und Koordination von Publikationen und sorgt mit der Weiterentwicklung und Pflege der Corporate Identity für den roten Faden beim Auftritt der SCTO.

BUCHHALTUNG, HUMAN RESOURCES UND ADMINISTRATION

Jonas Ajrouche  führt nicht nur unsere kniffligen Bücher, sondern auch unser vielschichtiges Sekretariat. Zudem sorgt er zusammen mit der Abteilung Kommunikation für ein reibungsloses Event-Management und unterstützt die Geschäftsleitung im Bereich Human Resources. Er hat eine kaufmännische Ausbildung und einen Bachelor in nationalem und internationalem Wirtschaftsrecht. 

Die Geschäftsstelle der SCTO befindet sich in Bern.