Striving for more reliable study results?
We focus on quality.

Associate members

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Network

International networking as the key to success

Today, many clinical research projects need to be carried out at the international level in order to be successful. Such projects are challenging, so the right partner and a professional infrastructure are crucial for project planning and implementation. This applies to studies performed by academia as well as industry-sponsored studies.

The SCTO coordinates services and study centres in Switzerland and in Europe, for example for multicentre studies. This is one of the key objectives of the new collaboration between the SCTO and ECRIN. Even though in multicentre studies a researcher usually makes the initial contact with researchers in other hospitals directly, the SCTO can liaise if desired.

Moreover, through the Swiss Research Network of Clinical Pediatric Hubs SwissPedNet, the SCTO supports the development of new medical products for children and adolescents and coordinates the necessary contacts in Switzerland.

The SCTO itself does not offer services for the operational implementation of trials. This is the task of the Clinical Trial Units (CTUs).

Verlässliche Studienergebnisse?
Wir setzen auf Qualität.

Mitglieder

Assoziierte Mitglieder

Die SCTO ist eine eigenständige Organisation und basiert auf einer Initiative des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds und der Schweizerischen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften.

Seit 2017 ist die SCTO eine vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation sowie vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds geförderte Forschungsinfrastruktur von nationaler Bedeutung.

Netzwerk

Internationale Vernetzung als Schlüssel zum Erfolg

Viele klinische Forschungsprojekte müssen heute international durchgeführt werden, um erfolgreich zu sein. Solche Projekte sind anspruchsvoll – der richtige Partner und eine professionelle Infrastruktur sind entscheidend bei der Planung und Umsetzung. Das gilt für Studien aus der Akademie ebenso wie für von der Industrie gesponserte Studien.

Die SCTO koordiniert und vermittelt Dienstleistungen sowie Studienzentren in der Schweiz und in Europa, etwa im Rahmen von Multizenterstudien. Dies ist eines der Hauptziele der neuen Zusammenarbeit zwischen SCTO und ECRIN. Auch wenn bei vielen Multizenterstudien der Erstkontakt sinnvollerweise über eine Forscherin oder einen Forscher im Spital erfolgt, kann die SCTO auf Wunsch als Vermittlerin agieren.

Ausserdem unterstützt die SCTO via SwissPedNet, dem Schweizer Netzwerk der Pädiatrischen Forschungszentren, die Entwicklung neuer Arzneimittel für Kinder und Jugendliche und vermittelt die dafür notwendigen Kontakte in der Schweiz.

Die SCTO selbst bietet keine Dienstleistungen für die operative Durchführung von Studien an. Dies ist Aufgabe der Clinical Trial Units (CTUs).